Chair of International Regional Studies

Chair of International Regional Studies

The Department history

The Department history began in 1960, when the Department of Humanitarian Disciplines was founded within preparatory faculty for foreign citizens in Taras Shevchenko State University of Kyiv. In 1995 it was renamed the Department of Comparative Political Science and Regional Studies. In 2003 it was renamed the Department of Country Studies. On 13 April 2018 it gained its current name – the Department of International Regional Studies.

In 2012 the Institute of International Relations began training specialists majored in country studies and, accordingly, the Department became graduating.

The training is conducted under Bachelor study program. The training after Master study program has begun since 1 September 2016.

The educational process is provided by the Department tutors, including 2 Professors, Doctors of Sciences, 3 Associate Professors, Candidates of Sciences, 5 Assistants, Candidates of Sciences and tutors of other Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv educational departments.

Bachelor programs:

  1. Country Studies
  2. Country Studies (American Studies and Oriental Studies)
  3. International and Political Country Studies
  4. Country Studies (American Studies, African Studies, European Studies, Oriental Studies)

Master programs:

  1. Regional Studies (1 year 9 months)
  2. International and Political Regional Studies (1 year 6 months)

The Department Development Program

At the following link you may study the presentation of the Department’s tutors’ results of remote work with students during the COVID-19 pandemic quarantine.

Senior lab assistant at the Department – Artur Bondar

Specialist methodologist – Larysa Odnolko

The Department phone number: 481-45-32



According to the Admission Rules of Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, Institute of International Relations, students’ admission on specializations Oriental Studies (Arabian Studies, African Studies, Turks Studies, Middle East Studies, Sinology) and American Studies (Latin American Studies, North American Studies) on the basis of Country Studies Bachelor educational program was carried out by single competition for the first time in 2017. Students admitted to the Country Studies educational program will be offered to learn Arabic, Chinese or Turkish (on their choice) on the Oriental Studies specialization, and English or Spanish (on their choice) on the American Studies specialization. Admission to language groups will be carried out according to the applicants’ ranking formed on the basis of foreign language External Independent Evaluation results, taking into account students’ wishes. Upon finishing Bachelor training, students will receive the diploma of Bachelor in Country Studies with two majors: specialist in country studies and translation specialist. If you require detailed information on admission, please call: (044) 481 45 32.

The Department of Country Studies of the Institute of International Relations, Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv.