Director of the Institute of International Relations Valery Kopiyka took part in the celebrations dedicated to the 54th ASEAN Day
The official ceremony, organized by representatives of diplomatic missions of ASEAN member states accredited in Ukraine, began with the performance of the ASEAN Anthem and the National Anthem of Ukraine.
Addressing the audience, the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Indonesia to Ukraine JV Juddi Krisnandi stressed the importance of Ukraine for ASEAN member states and the need to deepen bilateral and multilateral cooperation in the future. In particular, Mr. Ambassador noted the importance of establishing and preparing for the opening of the ASEAN Research Center at the IIR, saying: "We sincerely hope so".
For his part, Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs of Ukraine Yevhen Yenin stressed the economic, political and cultural importance of cooperation between Ukraine and ASEAN member states. "The long road begins with the first step," he said. "It is extremely pleasant and important for us to further expand our cooperation and constantly cover new sections of cooperation. Therefore, the ASEAN Research Center will be another important step in this direction - another step in relations between Ukraine and ASEAN". 
During the event, Valery Kopiyko had the opportunity to discuss the details of the preparation of the ASEAN Research Center for the opening with the Director of the Asia-Pacific Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine Yevhen Pikalov, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam to Ukraine Jin Nha Ngu, Plenipotentiary Ambassador of Ukraine to the Republic of Indonesia JV Vasyl Hamyanin, and representatives of the Embassy of Malaysia in Ukraine.
For reference: ASEAN Day is celebrated annually at the initiative of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) on August 8. It was on August 8, 1967 in Bangkok that 5 countries of Southeast Asia - Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and the Philippines - signed the ASEAN Declaration (better known as the "Bangkok Declaration"). Today, 10 countries are members of ASEAN: Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand and the Philippines. Papua New Guinea and East Timor have observer status. The organization was created to develop socio-economic and cultural cooperation of member countries, strengthen peace and stability in the region.